Driving school and worst case scenarios

So today I finally did my first driving session with Drive Smart so that I can get my license. If you do three 2 hour sessions with them you are allowed to take your driving test so when I finish my last one I can immediately get my license since I’m already 16. It’s a bit weird though, my lessons are scheduled so that they pick me up after school and it feels like some stranger is just picking you up and letting you drive their car around for a couple hours. I basically just drove while he told me when to turn or merge into another lane.

I came to a creepy realization that they could basically make you drive to some abandoned road and then just kill you. It’s not like you would realize that they’re leading you to your death since it’s their job to tell you where to go so they can see how you handle certain situations and make sure you don’t get lost. I had this thought running through my head for a good five minutes before dismissing it. I figured it would be a bad plan since your parents know how long your session is and where you’re being dropped of at the end of it.

On a happier note, the instructor said I did well. Thankfully I have the same guy for each session because otherwise I’d have to get use to a new person each time and they’d be making me do harder things as the sessions progress. I think it’s a good thing that you can do driving hours with the company because then you can test with them and they tell you what they’re looking for beforehand.

I keep thinking about the possibility that one day a news report will be talking about how some driving instructor kidnapped a teenager and then all those companies will end up losing a ton of business. Hopefully that’ll never happen though. If you’re a parent with a child that’s about to start learning to drive I recommend forgetting everything about this unlikely scenario immediately for your child’s sake.

Overall I like the driving sessions because you have the people that will be testing you teaching you everything you need to know and you’re in the car you’ll be testing in if you test with them(I only know of Drive Smart doing this). What are your thoughts or experiences with driving programs and/or the instructors in general?

Hope you all have a great day and stay safe. 🙂

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

