I think I’ll stay Out of the Woods

So today I went with my family to go see Into the Woods and it was an okay movie. My friend had seen it a few days ago and warned me that it was pretty much a musical. That made me not really want to go see it but it was a family thing so I didn’t have much of a choice. I was hoping that when she said it was like a musical she meant that there were just a few more songs than expected.
That hope had completely died within the first 10 minutes of the movie starting. The characters broke out into song so much that I’m pretty sure there was more singing than actual dialect. It’s not so much that the songs were bad, some were actually quite good, but there were so many that it quickly became annoying.
The rest of the movie was fairly good. I think the actors and actresses were accurately picked and they all did a good job of portraying their characters. The various classic fairy tales were merged together in such a way that the storyline flowed well instead of feeling jumbled up and disjointed.
I think if this movie had less singing and maybe a bit more of a darker feeling than it would an amazing movie. What I mean by a darker feeling is that the stories were already altered slightly and in such a way that if it was a bit creepier and not quite as joyful it would be more interesting.
Overall, not a bad movie as long as you don’t mind a LOT of singing. I wouldn’t go to see it again but I don’t regret seeing it this time. If you’ve seen the movie I’d love to hear what you thought about it. If you haven’t seen it than do you want to and why?
Hope you have a great day and stay safe. 🙂

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

