Finding something to last forever

photo

I like this quote, simply because even before I read it I had and still do have a similar mentality. I don’t think this is a bad thing because it’s true, everybody will die at some point. So after accepting that fact you’re left with the second part of the quote which says “The goal isn’t to live forever, it’s to create something that will.” Well what exactly does that mean.

I’m pretty sure there are a few ways to interpret this but they will all reach the same general idea/conclusion. The first part being that our physical body and ‘being’ will not last forever therefore we must do/leave something that will survive long after us whether by word of mouth, text, or a physical object. Well now we have that figured out but now we have to decide what it is we want to leave behind and be remembered by. I’ve had an idea for a little while now regarding how I want to be remembered, coincidentally this same topic also happens to be one of my biggest fears.

I fear the idea that when I die I will be forgotten, I won’t have made any significant difference in someone’s life, and my entire existence will just sort of die with me. I don’t consider this as me being selfish by wanting to be remembered because of why I want to be remembered(if that makes sense). I want to know that I was able to enter someone’s life and help them out of a hole they may be in. I want someone to be able to say that because of me they were able to to overcome an obstacle or they were able to keep moving forward.

With this fear in mind my goal in life is to do something that will help at least one person. I don’t know if this will be in writing, becoming a teacher, becoming a counselor or psychologist, a police officer, or just a little shop owner. In all honesty that’s really all I want in the end, I mean right now and along the road there will be other things that I want but this will always be my main goal in life.

So I would like to know how you want to be remembered after you die. I know it’s not necessarily the nicest thing to think about but I guarantee that at some point in your life or subconsciously have thought about how you want to be remembered.

I hope you all have a great day and stay safe. 🙂

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

