Books are love, Books are life

So while I’ve been on break I’ve had time to read and last Saturday (12/27) I went to Barnes and Noble and bought three books to read through before school starts back up. I bought the first volume of  a fairly new manga called Ajin, The Necromancer’s house by Christopher Buehlman, and Night Angel by Brent Weeks. I’m reading Night Angel first because it’s the longest at 1189 pages and because it seems the most interesting. I’m just under half way through the book right now and it’s rekindled my love of reading. I’ve loved reading since I was a baby but over the past couple years my desire to read has gone down and I’ve forgotten what reading does to you. It’s an escape from this reality and it envelops you in another world full of things that you love or desire to be.

Sadly, I can’t think of what book or books may have caused me to love it so much but there are definitely some series that have strengthened it over the years. The series that have kept me interested in reading over the years in order of when I discovered them are: Bone by Jeff Smith, Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan, The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, The Newsflesh Trilogy by Mira Grant, and finally Night Angel by Brent Weeks.

I currently have two bookshelves full of various books and all of them provide me with a different perspective on life, a person to can relate to, someone you aspire to be more like, and an overall escape from the struggles of everyday life. It saddens me that less and less people enjoy reading because not only is it an escape but it also helps improve vocabulary and the ability to be able to pick up on the more subtle things that occur all around us.

So I would like to know if you enjoy reading. If you do are there any books/series/authors that have strengthened that love for you? If you don’t enjoy reading then I would like to know why and if there was a certain book that caused you to think that?

Hope everyone has a great day and stays safe. 🙂

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

