My head’s overflowing, please send help

So today’s the first day of the new year and I’ve done nothing. I spent the entire day at home except for maybe a half hour when my family and I went to Target. It still feels like it’s a new year but it feels like it might be a dull one. I still have hopes that it just feels like that because I’ve been stuck inside all day. Anyway, that’s not want I want to talk about today (Not too sure actually what it is I want to talk about).

Why is it that sometimes we can think about only one thing and tune every other thought out until we’re ready to address it yet other times there are hundreds of thoughts all trying to be processed at once (guess I’m talking about this, should be interesting). I’m sitting here right now typing this with probably fifty other things going on in my head. Normally I can quell the storm of thoughts when I sit down to write so I only focus on what I’m writing, so why can’t I now? It’s a weird feeling thinking about so many things all at once and trying to give attention to all of them at the same time. I wonder if it becomes near impossible to suppress everything because we know that each thing is important in it’s own way. Okay, I have no idea where I’m going with this but more so because I don’t really know how you would go about explaining this sort of thing.

I mean sometimes it’s easy to only focus on one thing at a time whereas other times it’s not. Currently everything I’m thinking about ranges from how late I plan on reading tonight to why the heck am I writing this post to thinking about if my friends are okay, particularly one whom I’ve had this weird feeling all day that something’s wrong with her. Now I was just talking to her  and she told me everything’s okay but the feeling hasn’t gone away yet and I’m trying to figure out why. I think it’s because we care about them and want to make sure they’re okay and just can’t let the feeling go just like that.

I think when our thoughts start overflowing and preventing us from thinking clearly it becomes necessary to stop everything, relax, and sort through them or write them down so you can clear your head. Personally, neither of these have been super helpful to me since when I do either of them it only causes me to think about more things.

What do you guys think are some good ways to clear your head and focus because judging from this post I could use the tips. Also, do you ever just get a feeling something’s off with one of your friends even when they say everything’s all good. If so why do you think you get it or still have it after they tell you otherwise.

Hope everyone has enjoyed their first day of 2015. Stay safe and have a great day. 🙂

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

