Procrastination

So I realized a couple years back that I procrastinate all the time, I have a real problem with it. Whenever I have a task that has to be done there is a 99% chance I will procrastinate until the night before or procrastinate so much it doesn’t get done until a day late. I’ve heard some people say that they do their best work when they are down to the wire on time. Personally I find that impossible, I get too easily distracted even when I am running out of time on an assignment. The funny thing is that when I don’t procrastinate and do the work right away I do a better job, but that still doesn’t stop me from waiting until the last second. I think that when someone gives you an assignment whether it be your boss, teacher, or your friend they should give you a due date that is actually a couple days earlier then when it really needs to be done. If they give you an earlier date then if you procrastinate and finish it a day later than that due date, you haven’t actually finished late but instead are on time

I’m pretty sure it is too late for me to break this horrible habit but it might not be too late for you. If you are given an assignment set yourself an earlier due date and set time aside to work on the assignment so that when it comes down to the wire you have much less to or maybe even no work.

I hope you never have to feel the true fear of trying to do a massive project 6 hours before it is due… it is a truly terrifying feeling

Please feel free to share any tips you might use to keep yourself from procrastinating.

2 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. I’m a big procrastinator when it comes to things I’m not particularly interested in. With my writing, I keep strict deadlines. With other things like homework, I’ll kind of do whatever I want before I get to it. I have yet to find a way to break that habit lol. It also doesn’t help that my procrastination doesn’t affect the good grades I get… Maybe if I started failing, I would turn myself around xD

    • Thank you for leaving a comment.
      I also wonder if I would fix my ways if I started failing but hopefully it doesn’t have to come to that for either of us. It’s good though that you can keep strict deadlines for your writing, it shows that you must really enjoy writing and don’t want to see it suffer due to procrastination.
      I hope you can find a way to stop procrastinating with homework and should I find a successful way first I will gladly share it.

please leave your thoughts and opinions here

